Loading Events

« All Events


The ACKER Award

March 17, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

March 17, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Sharing is caring!

The 2016 ACKER Awards

Thursday, March 17th, 7pm-9pm / FREE

Presented by Clayton Patterson

The ACKER Awards were created by Alan Kaufman in San Francisco and Clayton Patterson in New York. Join Patterson and friends as they pay tribute to members of the avant-garde arts community who have made outstanding contributions in their discipline in defiance of convention, and to those who have served their fellow writers and artists in outstanding ways. The Acker Awards are named after novelist Kathy Acker, who in her life and work exemplified the risk-taking and uncompromising dedication that identifies the true avant-garde artist.

Each recipient receives a commemorative box that contains original art works and mementos created by some of the 40 winners. This year the box, decorated by artist Ethan Minsker, includes portraits painted on coffee cups painted by Anthony Zito, as well as a booklet, bios and other original works of art and ephemera. Previous boxes have contained a signed and numbered papier- mâche potato by Hapi Phace, a sculpture by Tom Otterness, a handmade book by Edgar Oliver, and other specially-created art works.

Lifetime Achievement Arturo Vega
Art Criticism Anthony Haden-Guest
Cartoon Illustrator/Punk Historian – John Holmstrom
Community Gardens and Art Shows – Carolyn Ratcliffe
Community Medical Doctor – Dr. David Ores, M.D.
Community Newspaper Event Organizer – Alice Torbush, Chris Flash, Leonard Abrams.
Cultural Facilitator – Brian “Hattie” Butterick
Filmmaking – Sara Driver
Folklore – Steve Zeitlin
Music – Chris Rael, Samoa Moriki
Performance – Penny Arcade
Photography – Robert Butcher, David Godlis, Marcia Resnick, Q. Sakamaki, Kate Simon, Stanley Stellar
Poetry – Eliot Katz
Tattoo History – Michael McCabe
Tattoo Art – Nick Bubash, Mike Bakaty
Writer – Puma Perl
Visionaries & Creative Inspirers – Dick Zigun, Rev. Richard Ryler, Shiv Mirabito, Zia Ziprin
Video – Pat Ivers, Emily Armstrong
Visual Art – Antony Zito, Curt Hoppe, Ethan Minsker, James Romberger, Marguerite Van Cook

Michael Cesar
Vali Myers
Snuky Tate
Dean Johnson
Lincoln Christopher Caplan
Carlucci Bencivenga
Hank Penza
Valerie Caris Blitz
John Evans
Carmen Pabon
Jack Smith
Patrick Geoffrois
Hilly Kristal
Chloe Dzubilo
William “Bill” Rice
Gregory Corso
Allen Ginsberg
Fred Rothbell Mista
Gerard Little
Florynce “Flo” Kennedy
Bittman “Bimbo” Rivas
Raymond “Raybeez” Barbieri
Taylor Mead
Spider Webb
Dee Dee Ramone
Joey Ramone
Wendy Wild
Rockets Redglare
Grady Alexis
Linda Twigg
Marty Matz
Martin Wong
Denis Charles
José Rivera
Tuli Kupferberg
Yuri Kapralov
Jorge Brandon
Baba Raúl Cañizares 09
Ethyl Eichelberger
Holly Woodlawn
Emile de Antonio
Quentin Crisp

read more about the ACKER Award

Sharing is caring!


March 17, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Howl! Happening
6 East 1st Street
New York City, NY 10003 United States
+ Google Map